About

The success of Nuits Saint-Pierre is due to its special atmosphere. Neither casual nor formal, our team creates an atmosphere that is both friendly and reserved. Just listening and serving our customers.

Our Team

Patricia & Bertrand

Together with my husband Bertrand, I am the owner of this large, beautiful house. Your first contact with Nuits Saint-Pierre is with me: I take your reservations, I welcome you at the airport and I show you the hotel and your room on arrival. I also prepare the wonderful cakes you’ll find at our Tea Room, Josephine Delights. They make a wonderful smell that hangs in the air.

The House

 

feu de 1939 quartier de Nuits Saint-Pierre

In 1939 a huge fire destroyed a third of the town of St-Pierre.

Joséphine and Georges Pannier’s house was burnt to the ground – a house they had owned for only a few months. They lost everything. However, with great courage and determination, they decided to rebuild on the ruins.

This time, they did not use wood as building material but bricks and soon a bright and spacious house was built where their first home once stood.

The building location, right downtown, was ideal to open a business.

On the first floor, they set up what will become the very popular « Magasin Général Pannier – Gros et Détail » (Pannier General Store – Wholesale and Retail). The second and third floors were used for the family residence.

M.Pannier working at his desk (Photo P. Derible)

Georges managed the wholesale business and also a Renault dealership. Joséphine was in charge of the retail store. She had exquisite taste and chose to sell products from brand names which are still flourishing today: Petit Bateau, Antinéa, Christofle, etc. Very soon, the Maison Pannier became a prosperous business that would last for many years.

In 1982, Georges passed away and Joséphine stayed alone in the big house. In 1991, she moved to the old age home where she died at the age of 103. She is remembered as an extraordinary person and an honorable business woman.

À propos

Le succès de Nuits Saint-Pierre tient aussi à son ambiance particulière. Ni familière, ni guindée, nous avons su créer une atmosphère à la fois amicale et réservée.

Tout simplement à l’écoute et au service de nos clients.

Patricia et Bertrand

Avec mon époux Bertrand, je suis la propriétaire de cette grande et belle maison. Votre premier contact avec Nuits Saint-Pierre se fait avec moi : je prends vos réservations, je vous présente notre hôtel et votre chambre à votre arrivée et c’est aussi moi qui viens vous accueillir à l’aéroport. Mon travail consiste également à préparer ces merveilleux gâteaux que vous trouverez aux Délices de Joséphine et qui font qu’une délicieuse odeur flotte toujours dans notre maison.

Une belle maison

feu de 1939 quartier de Nuits Saint-Pierre

En 1939, la ville de Saint-Pierre est une nouvelle fois ravagée par un gigantesque incendie. Un tiers de la ville est détruit.

Joséphine et Georges Pannier viennent de perdre la maison qu’ils avaient acquis quelques mois plus tôt. Ils décident de reconstruire sur les décombres de l’ancien immeuble, situé en plein coeur de Saint-Pierre, un endroit idéal pour y monter une affaire.

Ils ont tout perdu. Tout, sauf leur caractère entreprenant. Cette fois, ils construisent « en dur ». Il en ressort une belle demeure, vaste et lumineuse.

Au rez-de-chaussée, ils établissent ce qui deviendra vite l’incontournable « Magasin Général Pannier – Gros et Détail ».

Aux étages, l’appartement familial.

Alors que Georges travaille pour la vente en gros et la concession Renault, Joséphine a en charge le magasin de détail.

M. Pannier à son bureau (Photo P. Derible)

Elle a un goût prononcé pour les belles choses, elle sélectionne des produits de marques toujours florissantes aujourd’hui : Petit Bâteau, Antinéa, Christofle, etc… Très vite, la Maison Pannier bruisse d’une incessante activité commerciale.

Leurs affaires prospèrent de longues années et puis Georges s’en est allé, en 1982.

Joséphine resta seule dans sa grande maison.

En 1991, ce fut la maison de retraite, où elle s’éteignit à l’âge de 103 ans. Elle laisse le souvenir d’une personnalité hors du commun, une femme d’affaires respectée et avant-gardiste à qui nous tenons à rendre hommage.